Skip to content

I Am..

April.28.2012

I Am

Written at Babae retreat, April 2012

I am Gabriela, Tandang Sora, Lorena. I am Kemberly and Melissa, Babae and Samaka, Kababaihan ng pagasa.

I wonder, sister, if you think about me? Think about the world that could be, the world we work so hard to build, the world that you and I deserve to have, the world that we want to gift to our children of tomorrow.

I hear your heart beat at night, your muffled whispers to self, incantations of strength, and spirit, and solidarity.

I see you dance through the trees upon every brush of a leaf, every sway of a branch, every flutter of a wing.

I want to reach out to you, sister. Hold your hand, give you courage from the depths of my soul, embrace you until you and I are one.

 

You are Gabriela, Tandang Sora, Lorena. You are Kemberly and Melissa, Babae and Samaka, Kababaihan ng pagasa.

You pretend to be brave when sometimes you feel fear, uncertain if you have what it takes to face tomorrow.

You touch my shoulder, reassuring, searching. Firm, but gentle.

I worry that our determination will fade with the wind, wither through time

I cry for resistance, for peace. For sisterhood everlasting. For motherhood that will birth a day of justice and liberation.

 

I am Gabriela, Tandang Sora, Lorena. I am Kemberly and Melissa, Babae and Samaka, Kababaihan ng pagasa.

I understand what my role is. My history, and my destiny. I am a revolutionary.

I say this with every breath in my body.

I dream this with every hope that I manifest.

I will this with every fiber of my being.

I am…A woman.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

