Skip to content

youtube music roundup

September.1.2010

Some friends of mine circulate emails every month with a list of their top 5 songs for the month. Each person lists their fave songs, and include youtube links so that folks always have a source for new music. It’s a nice way to keep in touch, and although I haven’t been able to participate much, I look forward to receiving these emails each month.

So, for your listening pleasure, below are my top 5 for the month…I can’t stop listening to these songs right now =)

Dap-ayan ti Kultura iti Kordilyera (DKK) – “DAGA A NAGTAUDAN”: DKK is a cultural organization in the Cordilleras, and much of their organizing and art is centered around the struggles of indigenous Filipinos. They are AMAZING to hear live, and the lyrics to their songs are often in several languages/dialects to reflect the different tribal and indigenous peoples of the Cordilleras. I want to get the last 4 lines of this song tattooed on my body.

Musikang Bayan – “Rosas ng Digma” and “Ang Tugon”: This is a two part song where 2 (straight) lovers are singing to each other. Note that the 2nd song is a new version of “Ang Tugon” and I definitely like this rendition better. The message is stronger, where the woman actually plays a more proactive role in the revolution instead of the original version where she awaits to be reunited with her lover. I’d love to see these 2 songs performed via movement/dance where the lovers are queer…I think that would be an even stronger message!

Lei Garcia – “Bayan Bayan Bayan Ko”: Lei Garcia is this amazing progressive singer/songwriter that I had the pleasure of meeting a few years ago when she came to the U.S. to do a mini tour. She composed an equally beautiful song titled “Babae” that I’ve used several times in slideshows, but I really LOVE this song. It’s such a great message!

Joey Ayala – “Walang Hanggang Paalam”: A good friend of mine is moving permanently to the Philippines soon, and I’m gonna miss him soo sooo much! This song is for him, until we meet again.

Power Struggle – “ArtOfficialFreedom”: I’ve already talked a little about Nomi here, and I sure hope you’ve gotten a copy of his album when it dropped a few months ago. Here’s the newest music video off the album, and i LOVE it. It’s great imagery, and I love the simplicity of the storyline. It’s also completely grounded in the basic things that Nomi represents and fights for: worker’s rights, family, music, art, youth, community.

Power Struggle “ArtOfficalFreedom” Music Video from Just Bombin Films on Vimeo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

